To maintain a clean driving record, you must ensure that there are no traffic violations, accidents, DUIs, or points on your driving record. The best way to erase your history is to take a defensive driving course. Texas law requires drivers to show that they can pay for the accidents they cause. Most drivers do this when purchasing liability insurance for cars.
Liability insurance pays for the repair or replacement of the other driver's car or other damaged property, and pays for other people's medical expenses when you're at fault for an accident. For example, if your car is 10 years old, the company will pay you the value of a 10-year-old used car. While men tend to pay higher insurance premiums than women because it has been statistically demonstrated that men are more at risk behind the wheel, the average increase in premiums for full coverage after a speeding conviction in Texas is approximately the same, regardless of gender. If the other driver's policy limits aren't high enough to pay for all your car repairs, file a claim with your insurance company.
The first step after being denied car insurance is to search for a policy and apply for it with other providers. Insurers may be reluctant to insure drivers who have long trips or who drive long distances frequently. If your accident was caused by another driver, the other driver's insurance company will pay you for a car rental. However, the consequences of driving without car insurance will make you want to get a policy whether you're behind the wheel or not.
Situations such as the one described above, in which a car owner decides not to obtain or renew their driver's license but still wants to own a car, are not the only times that the topic of car insurance for unlicensed drivers can be raised. If you prefer to stick with your current car insurance company, review your current policy and ask if there are any discounts that you're not currently requesting and that you qualify for. Your insurance company will pay for a car rental only for as long as it deems reasonable to repair or replace your car. In addition to your credit rating, Harzog noted that auto insurance companies could also review your credit report to review your payment history and your credit utilization ratio (how much you owe versus what you won't pay to replace your car with a new car of the same make and model as your total car).
While it can be frustrating to see that car insurance premiums for Texas drivers are higher as a result of a speeding ticket, there are several things to consider to reduce the cost of car insurance. If you don't own a car, but you borrow it frequently, you can purchase a third-party liability policy that pays for damages and injuries you cause to others while driving a borrowed car. Driving without proof of financial responsibility is illegal no matter where you live, and you'll face some type of penalty if you're caught driving without car insurance. If you can't find a company that's willing to sell you a policy, you can get basic coverage through the Texas Auto Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA).