In Texas, the statute of limitations for filing insurance claims after car accidents is the same for personal injury claims in Texas, which is 2 years. Insurance companies in Texas have 35 business days to resolve a claim after it has been filed. Texas insurance companies also have specific time frames in which they must recognize the claim and then decide whether to accept it before paying the final settlement. In Texas, the statute of limitations for car accident claims is the same as the state uses for most personal injury claims.
Therefore, the statute of limitations for car accident claims related to injuries in Texas is two years from the day of the accident. This limit also applies to those who wish to file a claim for property damage resulting from an accident. However, you should always talk to an attorney about your case, even if you think your claim has been time-barred. The insurance company generally has approximately 30 days to investigate your claim.
To summarize briefly, car insurance claims can remain on your driving record for three to seven years. Car insurance claims for more serious damage can result in much longer time. Insurance companies will also use appraisers and accident reconstruction experts to determine fault in car accidents. This is how car insurance companies assess the risk that a driver will take as a holder of an auto insurance policy so that they can set car insurance premiums accordingly.
This information is not an insurance policy, does not refer to any specific insurance policy, and does not modify any provision, limitation or exclusion that is expressly stated in any insurance policy. The more information and evidence you gather after a car accident, the easier the insurance adjuster's job will be. If the insurance company doesn't mail you a notice of non-renewal at least 30 days before your policy expires, you have the right to require the insurance company to renew your policy. If the term of your insurance policy is less than one year, your insurance company must renew it until it has been in effect for one year.
Your driving record follows you wherever you go, as auto insurance companies consider it part of their auto insurance policy underwriting process. You have the right to purchase insurance for minimum liability, personal injury protection and for uninsured drivers through the Texas Auto Insurance Plan Association, also known as TAIPA, if two insurance companies have denied coverage. Your driving record will also reflect any car insurance claims, as your auto insurance company and the DMV are in contact and should update your driving history periodically. Two car insurance claims in one year can result in a car insurance premium increase of at least 92%.
When you go to buy new car insurance, potential car insurance companies will be able to see your history of car insurance claims, in addition to any driving surcharges. If a car insurance claim is filed because of the damage you caused in a car accident, it will increase your car insurance rates. During the years when there is an auto insurance claim on your record, whether it's three, seven, or ten, you can look for a new car insurance provider. When you file a car insurance claim for a car accident that you weren't at fault for, it won't be on your record or increase your car insurance rates.
The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) adopted the Bill of Rights and requires insurance companies to provide you with a copy when they issue your policy. It's also essential that you gather all the information requested by the auto insurance claims adjuster, as this is what will determine who pays the highest car insurance rates.