In addition, if you have a car accident claim against the government (for example, if you were hit by an official vehicle), you must notify your claim to the government before filing a lawsuit. In most cases, you must provide notice within a shorter period of time than the statute of limitations in your case. In Texas, you must notify the state of your pending car accident claim within 180 days of the accident. Many counties and municipalities in Texas have even shorter notice periods, sometimes as short as 60 days after the accident.
For example, if you file a claim for breach of insurance contract against the insurance company, you have four years from the alleged breach of the insurance policy by the insurance company to file your claim. Once you report your accident or file a claim with the insurance company, a claims appraiser will likely contact you and will be the contact person for your relations with the insurance company. If you don't report your accident within the time required by your insurance policy, your insurer may deny a claim you file against your policy. If you or a loved one were injured in a Corpus Christi car accident caused by another motorist, you may have the right to file an injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver's insurance.
If you file a claim for the injuries and damages suffered in your car accident against the auto insurance company, you must comply with the Texas statute of limitations for personal injury claims, which is two years from the date of the accident. Alternatively, if you file a claim for breach of the duty of good faith and fair treatment, or allege that the insurance company violated the Texas Insurance Code, you must file your lawsuit within two years of the legal violation by the insurance company for breach of the duty of good faith and fair treatment.