Insurance companies in Texas have 35 business days to resolve a claim after it has been filed. Texas insurance companies also have specific time frames in which they must recognize the claim and then decide whether to accept it before paying the final settlement. In some circumstances, your insurance company may extend the deadline for approving or denying your claim by 45 days. You should talk to a personal injury lawyer today to discuss the insurance process, your rights, and your options in more detail.
A car accident case can take weeks, months, or even years to resolve, depending on the complexity of the case and the severity of your injuries. Here's what you should know about the timeline of your car accident case and the factors that influence the schedule. The insurance company must accept or deny your claim within 15 days of receiving from you the elements necessary to make a determination (art. If they deny the claim, they must explain why; and if they accept any part of the claim, they must pay you within five business days (sec.
Most states protect consumers by requiring insurance companies to process auto accident claims promptly. Car insurance claims can involve a whole range of people and groups besides you, the other driver, and both insurance companies. There is no single answer as to how long it takes to process a claim, but some states have laws that say that auto insurance companies must resolve accepted claims within a certain period of time. There are a number of situations where your car insurance company won't give you money after a claim.
If you have a full-coverage policy with collision coverage, your insurance company will pay an insurance settlement for repairs to your vehicle, up to the actual cash value of your car. Also, don't wait to see a doctor, but if possible, postpone car repairs; your insurance company may want to inspect the damage or ask you to go to an approved repair shop. Managing bad faith insurance claims occurs when your insurance company deliberately does something to reduce your chances of receiving a fair payment. So who gets the money? If another driver is at fault and that driver's insurance pays for the repairs, the insurance company usually pays compensation directly to you or to the repair shop.
In addition, although insurance companies must offer it, drivers can refuse to purchase coverage for uninsured or underinsured motorists as part of their insurance policy (sec. Even so, you should tell your insurance company that your car was damaged, even if you don't file a claim. Lying on your car insurance application is considered fraud and you can face additional consequences if you get caught. If you suspect that the insurance is in bad faith, address the issue with your insurance company, and if that doesn't resolve the problem, be prepared to consult an attorney.
If an accident involves more people and those others need medical attention, your insurance company will have to spend more time communicating with them, their insurance companies, and medical staff. The auto insurance claim process can be resolved in as little as a few weeks or as long as a few months.