A DUI in Texas can affect insurance for up to 10 years, depending on how long ago the insurance company looked in a motor vehicle registry. Most insurers consider the last 3 to 5 years of a motor vehicle driver's history when calculating premiums, but some consider even more serious offenses, such as driving under the influence of alcohol. Keep in mind that a driving record is independent of a criminal record. A DUI can stay on your criminal record for life.
Generally, a Texas DUI or DWI will remain on your driving record for the rest of your life. However, a DUI will generally stop affecting your car insurance rate after several years. And while that number may vary, keep in mind that it won't affect your car insurance rates forever. If you want to drive after the suspension of your administrative and criminal license has been suspended, you'll need to maintain your car's liability coverage and submit specific evidence from your insurer.
Auto insurance laws in Texas are the same for all drivers, regardless of their driving history or DUI. This information is not an insurance policy, does not refer to any specific insurance policy, and does not modify any provision, limitation or exclusion that is expressly stated in any insurance policy. Once the DUI violation stops showing up on your motor vehicle report, you'll see a decrease in your car insurance rate. A drunk driving (DWI) conviction can affect your car insurance in Texas for at least three years, although it can take much longer.
The tables below include the average annual auto insurance rates for the minimum and full coverage policies of popular auto insurance providers in Texas, as well as the average rates for drivers with a DWI. All insurance products are governed by the terms of the applicable insurance policy, and all related decisions (such as coverage approval, premiums, fees and charges) and policy obligations are the sole responsibility of the insurance insurer. If you have one or more drunk driving convictions on your record, the insurance company will consider you a high-risk driver, so they will likely charge you a high premium to insure you. However, since many companies don't insure a driver after a DUI, the phrase is commonly used to draw attention to the incident when looking for car insurance.
Even after this period is over, you could still pay more for your car insurance because of your drunk driving history. When you purchase or renew an insurance policy, your insurance company will review your driving record to determine its risk of insuring you. Having a DUI or DWI conviction on your record is one of the most serious crimes, with significant consequences for your car insurance premium. Request an auto insurance quote online or call 1-866-749-7436, and if you purchase a policy and need an SR-22, we'll immediately file it in your state.
In addition to higher insurance premiums, if you are found guilty of drunk driving (DWI) in Texas, the state will require you to obtain a special form of financial responsibility called an SR-22 insurance certificate.