You shouldn't wait long to report a car accident in Texas to your insurance company. You can generally have 30 days to file a claim with your insurer. After being involved in a car accident, you may wonder how much time you have to file a lawsuit to seek compensation from the at-fault driver for your injuries and other losses. In Texas, the deadline for filing a personal injury lawsuit is normally two years from the date of the underlying accident.
That said, there are a few notable exceptions to this rule that may apply in limited circumstances. Insurance companies in Texas have 35 business days to resolve a claim after it has been filed. Texas insurance companies also have specific time frames in which they must recognize the claim and then decide whether to accept it before paying the final settlement. If you or a loved one was injured in a Corpus Christi car accident caused by another motorist, you may have the right to file an injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver's insurance.
If your insurance policy has coverage for uninsured drivers, you can file a car accident claim with your insurance company. For more information, see WalletHub's guides to no-fault insurance and the cheapest car insurance in Texas. Bills related to personal injuries, car repairs, and other expenses related to accidents can place a significant financial burden on victims, so it is recommended to seek reimbursement from the at-fault driver's insurance company. If you don't report your accident within the time required by your insurance policy, your insurer may deny a claim you file against your policy.
While it may be unnoticed for many victims of collisions to file their car accident claims, not filing their insurance claim or car accident claim within the time allotted by Texas law could limit their ability to recover reimbursement. When you file a claim after a car accident, the insurance company will assign an appraiser to your case. Contacting an attorney immediately after your car accident ensures that you don't miss the opportunity to file a car accident claim. If you or a loved one has been injured in a Corpus Christi car accident for reasons beyond your control, the car accident lawyers at Herrman & Herrman, P.
When determining who is at fault is difficult, it will be established by your insurance adjuster, the at-fault driver's insurance company, the police, and possibly the court if you file a car accident lawsuit if you file a car accident lawsuit. Because every car accident is unique, a lawyer specializing in car accidents cannot guarantee a specific amount of compensation, and courts do not use a fixed scale to determine the amount of money that should be awarded to injury victims. Bodily injury claims are the ones that take the longest to resolve because there are several parties involved, such as your doctor, car insurance company, and your health insurance provider. If you were injured in a car accident in Texas through little or no fault of your own, contact an experienced car accident lawyer as soon as possible to protect your right to compensation from the at-fault party.
Insurance companies will also use appraisers and accident reconstruction experts to determine fault in car accidents. However, if you have a claim against the auto insurance company itself for denying a request for benefits, other statute of limitations come into play.