Most drivers do this when purchasing liability insurance for cars. Texas law requires drivers to show that they can pay for the accidents they cause. Liability insurance pays for the repair or replacement of the other driver's car or other damaged property, and pays for other people's medical expenses when you're at fault for an accident. Texas law says that you must show that you can pay for the accidents you cause.
Most people do this when buying auto liability insurance. Liability insurance pays for the other driver's repairs and medical bills. If you still owe money for your car, your lender will require that you have collision coverage and comprehensive coverage to pay for damage to your car. If you think the other driver was at fault, but your insurance company won't pay your claim, file a claim with your own insurance company.
The Office of the Public Insurance Counsel represents the interests of Texas consumers as a group or class. For example, if your car is 10 years old, the company will pay you the value of a 10-year-old used car. If you can't find a company that's willing to sell you a policy, you can get basic coverage through the Texas Auto Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA). The Texas Department of Insurance is the official state agency responsible for regulating the insurance industry in Texas.
We work with more than 35,000 independent agents and brokers who offer a variety of insurance policies from both Progressive and other insurance companies. If you don't own a car, but you borrow it frequently, you can purchase a third-party liability policy that pays for damages and injuries you cause to others while driving a borrowed car. You can file a car insurance claim with Progressive by logging into your policy, calling 1-800-776-4737, or using the Progressive app. Car insurance protects you financially by paying the medical and repair bills for the other driver's car if you cause an accident.
If your accident was caused by another driver, the other driver's insurance company will pay for you to rent a car. Your car insurance rate is determined by factors such as age, location, driving history, type and use of the vehicle, and more. With very few exceptions, insurance companies that provide policies in Texas must have a license from the Department. It won't be worth replacing your car with a new one that's the same make and model as your wrecked car.
If your policy includes “rental reimbursement coverage,” this will cover the rental of a vehicle if it was stolen or repaired because of an accident covered by the policy. If the company is not listed as authorized to issue the type of coverage offered, ask the Texas Department of Insurance if the company needs to have a license in Texas to issue the policy.